website builder

Every year, AWARE hosts the Women of Distinction Gala & Silent Auction to:

Celebrate women of distinction in our community;

Recognize women whose work (paid and/or volunteer) has benefited the lives of women and children in Juneau;

Honor unsung heroes of the community, as well as those with publicly recognized achievement;

Support and encourage community members and groups to recognize women of distinction within their organizations; and

Raise funds to support AWARE’s work with victims of domestic violence and sexual assault.

For additional information regarding Women of Distinction, contact Mandi Canady at or at 907-586-6623.


AWARE's 2023 Women Distinction Gala will be held on Saturday, March 4th.

Get tickets, ads, and/or sponsorships here!

Congraulations to our 2023 Women of Distinction (from left to right): Catherine “Kate” Wolfe, Jennifer “Jeni” Brown, LaRae Jones, and Susan Bell!

The Women of Distinction Gala will take place at the Elizabeth Peratrovich Hall on Saturday, March 4, 2023!  Tickets are on esale now!  We hope to see you there!

These are the criteria we use to select the honorees who are nominated by the community:

Demonstrated Commitment: Candidate has demonstrated a commitment to improving the quality of life for women and children in Juneau.

Integrity, Dedication, Motivation: Candidate has demonstrated qualities of integrity, dedication, motivation and leadership in the community.

Willingness to Share Skills & Knowledge: Candidate has demonstrated the willingness to share her skills and knowledge.

Role Model: Candidate has demonstrated qualities of a role model.

Supports Diversity: Candidate’s work has represented and/or supported diverse groups within our community.

Archives: See all of AWARE’s past Honorees from Women of Distinction!

2022: Nancy Douglas & Kitty Eddy (sisters!), Mariya Lovishchuk, Bunti Reed, and       Dr. Bridget Weiss

2021: No event due to the COVID-19 pandemic

2020: Donnie Gott, Lily Hope, Hazel LeCount, and Tari Stage-Harvey

2019: Francine Eddy Jones, Susan Macaulay, Jorden Nigro, and Janine Reep

2018: June Degnan, Kolene Jame, DaxKilatch, Kueni Ma’ake, and Lauree Morton

2017: Andrea Cesar, Sioux Douglas, Kris Sell, and Rena Sims

2016: Marie Darlin, Justine Muench, Missouri Smyth, and Kristi West

2015: Laraine Derr, Ernestine Hayes, Betty Kaplor, and Shari Paul

2014: Carol Pitts, Elaine Schroeder, Norene Otnes, and Patty Owen

2013: Mary Ellen Arvold, Jackie Martin, Colleen McKenzie & Kathy Kolkhorst Ruddy

2012: Amy Dressel, Sharron Lobaugh, Joan O’Keefe and Megan Gregory

2011: Debi Ballam, Susan Cox, Selina Everson and Diana Stevens

2010: Chris Ashenbrenner, carolyn Brown, Bev Ingram and Helen Sarabia


2009: Marla Berg, Ann Boochever, Marsha Buck and Angie Lunda

2008: Helen Abbott-Watkins, Alberta Aspen, Susan Baxter and Betsy Brenneman

2007: Joyanne Bloom, Doloresa Cadiente, Ann Lockhart and Connie Munro

2006: Nora Marks Dauenhauer, Lynnette Dihle, Sally Rue and Tamara Simone Collins

2005: Joy Lyon, Kimberly L. Metcalfe, Jeri Museth and Laura Stats

2004: Beth Belflower, Mildred Boesser, Laury Scandling, Vicki Soboleff

2003: Merry Ellefson, Ethel Lund, Margaret Pugh, Tish Griffin Satre

2002: Robin Gilcrist, Tony Mallot, Fran Ulmer

2001: Glenda Carino, Mo Longworth, Stella Martin, Diane Sly

2000: Diane Lindback, Marie Olsen, Nancy Seamount, Constance Trollan

1999: Linda O. Augustine, Sara Boesser, Kay Greenough, Carla Timpone, Kelly       Mangano

1998: Shirley Dean, Kaye Kanne, Myra Munson, Dorothy Thornton

1997: Justine Emerson, Caren Robinson, Linda Torgerson, Freda Westman